Fix for crash when loading

If you need assistance with a technical issue, this forum is for you. Specifically for help with Wasteland 2 itself. Spoilers are allowed, but spoiler warning tags are recommended.

Moderator: Ranger Team Alpha

Post Reply
User avatar
Tets
Master
Posts: 1359
Joined: December 28th, 2012, 8:53 am

Fix for crash when loading

Post by Tets » December 26th, 2013, 4:03 pm

tldr; I have win 7 32-bit with 3gb ram and wasteland 2 crashed because of a lack of user address space. this happend when loading, when going into inventory, maybe also on other occasions. i used the "bcdedit" command in windows 7 to allow Windows 32-bit to use 1gb more of user address space for Wasteland 2. crashes were significantly reduced, allthough its also possible to use up 3gb of user address space with wasteland 2.

look into a crashlog (file name = error) where the game crashed when loading. search for user address space. if you used up all your user address space (only a few mb left), you need to give the game more user address space to stop it from crashing.


Today i found time to look into the crash logs and it was quite easy to detemine my problem. Its a lack of "user address space". If you experience crashes when loading, look into one of your crashlogs that were created when loading failed. its in Steam\SteamApps\common\Wasteland 2\Build\. open the error file. The beginning of the file should look like this:

Code: Select all

Unity Player [version: Unity 4.3.1f1_cebd4d9b5122]

WL2.exe caused an Access Violation (0xc0000005)
  in module WL2.exe at 001b:00861925.

Error occurred at 2013-12-27_003340.
C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\Wasteland 2\Build\WL2.exe, run by POWERSTRANGER.
73% memory in use.
3072 MB physical memory [823 MB free].
0 MB paging file [0 MB free].
2048 MB user address space [62 MB free].
Write to location 00000000 caused an access violation.
Search for the line with "user address space". If you only have a few mb user address space free like in this example, your game probably crashes because of this when loading, and also in other situations (for example opening the inventory, changing graphic options, etc). Thats whats meant with the following line: "Write to location 00000000 caused an access violation." there is simply no more space to write more into the user address space.

What to do? Do this at your own risk. You have to give the game more user address space. That means, windows gets less user adress space. So this is no unproblematic fix. I did this with win 7 32-bit, 3gb ram. Other systems might need slightly other fixes to increase user address space. bcdedit works with windows vista and newer versions. Take a look at this site for win 32bit systems: http://windows7themes.net/32-bit-use-bc ... ation.html

it helped me. But only to some degree. Because sometimes W2 even uses 1gb more, like in this example with the user address space fix (note: now i have 3072 MB user address space instead of 2048 MB - thats all you can get with win 32bit):

Code: Select all

Unity Player [version: Unity 4.3.1f1_cebd4d9b5122]

WL2.exe caused an Access Violation (0xc0000005)
  in module WL2.exe at 001b:00405d26.

Error occurred at 2013-12-27_002510.
C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\Wasteland 2\Build\WL2.exe, run by POWERSTRANGER.
76% memory in use.
3072 MB physical memory [732 MB free].
0 MB paging file [0 MB free].
3072 MB user address space [113 MB free].
Write to location 00000000 caused an access violation.
Nonetheless, when i found the fix i tried to crash the game, and it took me quite some time. Loading worked well after this fix. Hope this might also help other peoples. if you tried it out, please let other people know if it helped you.

User avatar
asense249
Initiate
Posts: 10
Joined: December 21st, 2013, 1:03 am

Re: Fix for crash when loading

Post by asense249 » December 27th, 2013, 10:14 am

THIS worked like a charm for me, i also got 3G RAM - followed your instructions and was, for the first time, able to play 3 straight hours without crash. Before that i had a 50/50 chance of crashing on EVERY transition and was never able to play more than half an hour uninterrupted. And after that 3 hours i quit the game normally - never had to do that before fix :)

So, if you got a lot of crashes and only 3G RAM (max on 32bit systems?), this may be the solution for you. Thx a lot OP. Like a really, really, really biiiiig thanks.
Last edited by asense249 on February 25th, 2014, 5:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Fear the prophecy of Freakazoid!

User avatar
Tets
Master
Posts: 1359
Joined: December 28th, 2012, 8:53 am

Re: Fix for crash when loading

Post by Tets » December 27th, 2013, 10:19 am

im glad it helped you. it was also one of my first times, that i was able to close the game normally :D

Tangaroa
Scholar
Posts: 116
Joined: December 1st, 2013, 9:10 am

Re: Fix for crash when loading

Post by Tangaroa » December 27th, 2013, 11:03 am

Interesting. So I have this repeating error in the error log:

Code: Select all

Unity Player [version: Unity 4.3.1f1_cebd4d9b5122]

WL2.exe caused an Access Violation (0xc0000005)
  in module WL2.exe at 0023:00a53427.

Error occurred at 2013-12-24_140048.
C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Wasteland 2\Build\WL2.exe, run by Jacob.
68% memory in use.
0 MB physical memory [2509 MB free].
0 MB paging file [3418 MB free].
0 MB user address space [60 MB free].
Write to location 00000004 caused an access violation.
In my case, my system in windows 64 bit with 8 gb of RAM. It looks to my untrained eyes me like the game is both misreading the amount of RAM free and not accessing any of it. And the error is different... the "000000004" is trying to read unallocated RAM memory? Or is my understanding all backwards.

Tangaroa
Scholar
Posts: 116
Joined: December 1st, 2013, 9:10 am

Re: Fix for crash when loading

Post by Tangaroa » December 27th, 2013, 2:24 pm

OK, so I made some progress on my windows 8 64 bit system, using a combination of solutions from the interwebs and some of the folks here.

Step 1: updated to latest NVIDIA Geforce drivers ( have a 610M). This resulted in a 00000020 address write issue... so still having memory.

Step 2: Used "Good" instead of "Fast" on startup. Haven't tried an area transition yet, but at least the save game loading works without a save/load workaround.

I think I'll go back to the rail thieves camp and see how my computer handles now. The dust effect was causing silly amounts of slowdown...

User avatar
Tets
Master
Posts: 1359
Joined: December 28th, 2012, 8:53 am

Re: Fix for crash when loading

Post by Tets » December 27th, 2013, 7:01 pm

does wasteland run as a 32bit or 64bit application under win 64bit?

If it runs as a 32bit application, it can handle not more than 2 GB with IMAGE_FILE_LARGE_ADDRESS_AWARE cleared. But it can use 3GB+ with IMAGE_FILE_LARGE_ADDRESS_AWARE set. http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa366778.aspx

Maybe your sytem only uses 2GB for W2? Or for some reason 3 GB arent enough? Then it could also crash because of lacking memory, even if it is a 64bit system with 8GB Ram.

Tangaroa
Scholar
Posts: 116
Joined: December 1st, 2013, 9:10 am

Re: Fix for crash when loading

Post by Tangaroa » December 28th, 2013, 8:41 am

Ok, so twiddling with the task manager and watching the numbers during load process yields this:

It's running in 32 bit mode.
In "Fast", it gets to about 1.3 Gb and then crashes.
In "Good", it gets to about 1.8 Gb and loads successfully.

I guess to check if the IMAGE_FILE_LARGE_ADDRESS_AWARE flag is set google tells me I needs to have "dumpbin.exe" - so I need to either grab Visual Studio or Windows SDK?

User avatar
Tets
Master
Posts: 1359
Joined: December 28th, 2012, 8:53 am

Re: Fix for crash when loading

Post by Tets » December 28th, 2013, 10:11 am

in another thread i also asked a question regarding the 64bit version, and it should get enough memory.

Mcwidowmaker
Initiate
Posts: 2
Joined: January 3rd, 2014, 9:04 pm

Re: Fix for crash when loading

Post by Mcwidowmaker » January 4th, 2014, 10:27 pm

I had the same problem on windows 7 32bit and increasing the adress space fixed it for me. I also reduced graphics to simple, it doesn't seem to want anything higher than that. Surely this is still coding errors that will be fixed in patches? Can't see that they can do a final release with a problem like this.

Felixg91
Adventurer
Posts: 659
Joined: May 10th, 2013, 4:14 pm

Re: Fix for crash when loading

Post by Felixg91 » June 3rd, 2014, 5:19 pm

Yeah hopefully they can make it doable...(otherwise I am probably gonna want my backer pledge back), but I will patiently wait and hope, I had thought this an optimization problem only in the beta, I will try lowering the graphics settings and the other work around Tets suggested ( thank you Tets)

User avatar
Tets
Master
Posts: 1359
Joined: December 28th, 2012, 8:53 am

Re: Fix for crash when loading

Post by Tets » June 3rd, 2014, 5:41 pm

One key aspect of optimization is lowering memory usage, so i would quess it gets better over time (in fact it already did get better).

But more and more games today simply need more than <2gb user address space or a 64bit OS to work properly, especially with high graphic settings. Its not a problem which is only caused by inxile, its also a hardware/software limitation, modern games doesnt always run smooth on a 32bit system.. and maybe its also a bit caused by the unity engine, which seems to have some weird issues like overheating the system or eating too much memory..

.. even if a new FPS runs smooth on your 32bit system, this doesnt mean a memory heavy game like witcher 2 or wasteland 2 also does. :( ..if you can get your hands on a 64bit system for free, i would switch!

I quess in the end you can play the game on a 32bit system, but sometimes there will be random crashes and you probably cant play on highest graphic settings..

rolfe
Initiate
Posts: 3
Joined: June 11th, 2014, 12:43 pm

Re: Fix for crash when loading

Post by rolfe » August 22nd, 2014, 2:13 pm

Anybody still seeing memory issues? After the most recent update, the game should be well under the 2 GB limit. If you're on a 32-bit system, probably want to set your texture quality to the lowest available still.

Asgard-v-d-S
Initiate
Posts: 1
Joined: October 1st, 2014, 1:32 am

Re: Fix for crash when loading

Post by Asgard-v-d-S » October 1st, 2014, 1:34 am

With the current version. Mine crashes more than ever.
Completely unplayable. :-(

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests