The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

For all discussion on all the previous The Bard's Tale games: the classic 1980's games (The Bard's Tale II: Destiny Knight, & III: Thief of Fate) & the humorous The Bard's Tale (2004) spin off.

Moderator: Bard Hall Bouncers

redwinclass
Novice
Posts: 49
Joined: November 27th, 2017, 3:38 am

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by redwinclass » December 4th, 2018, 4:25 am

BUG - Automap Glitch?

BT2 - v 2.08
In Sarandon's, teleport from N6E0 to N6E1. SCSI immediately. Go back to N6E0 to be teleported. Question mark still appears.

rakenan
Scholar
Posts: 208
Joined: March 6th, 2012, 8:21 pm

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by rakenan » December 6th, 2018, 1:14 pm

BUG - missing encounter

In BT2 v2.08, on the Maze of Dread, Level 3, N11 E10, web maps show an encounter with the Graphnar Weapon Master and his students. No such encounter is present in the remaster. Was this omitted on purpose, by accident, or is it just an error in the web map I saw (Bard's Tale Online map, specifically) ?
This year, I resolve to work harder. . . because it's obvious the world is not going to end itself.

User avatar
jamespodesta
Explorer
Posts: 365
Joined: February 20th, 2018, 4:02 pm

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by jamespodesta » December 6th, 2018, 8:07 pm

sorry for the lack of response. hard at work trying to get BT3/Legacy Mode in beta before christmas.

Also, its getting hard to track which bugs were fixed after the last cutoff without a lot of looking through histories.
There was some issues with the graphnar weapon master encounter but its all working in latest, so should be fixed in the next drop.
Lead Programmer
Krome Studios.

KSS
Initiate
Posts: 17
Joined: August 21st, 2018, 7:56 am

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by KSS » December 22nd, 2018, 5:37 am

- Another bug I noticed in BT2: frequently, after APAR-ing to a dungeon's exit square then exiting, the game gets stuck, leaving only the option to restore (F6 works); after doing that, APAR-ing and exiting again works.

Jesse011
Initiate
Posts: 7
Joined: December 28th, 2018, 5:18 pm

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by Jesse011 » December 28th, 2018, 8:00 pm

It's really just nitpicking as the game is so good and it's an insignificant part, but watching the dealer hit on hard 17 and as high as 20 while playing blackjack isn't right. Some casinos make a dealer hit on soft 17 (A 6) but they all stay on a hard 17 (10 7) Maybe add some other kind of reward like a weapon recharge item or up the ante to make it worth playing later on since so much work went into the card graphics already

dkuwayam
Initiate
Posts: 2
Joined: January 1st, 2019, 2:25 am

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by dkuwayam » January 1st, 2019, 2:39 am

Hi, I just purchased BT Trilogy on Steam. It installed correctly, but I can't boot it. I get an error box stating:
"The Bard's Tale Trilogy has encountered an error and must close.
A crash report named ____ has been generated. These files can be sent to InXile Entertainment for analysis. Would you like to open this folder now?"

When I open the crash reports, it always states: "UnityPlayer.dll caused an Access Violation (0xc0000005)
in module UnityPlayer.dll at 0033:3c7684b6."

I have a super clean system, I just installed a fresh Windows 10 Pro about a week ago, I have almost no other software installed except Kaspersky Antivirus, Carbonite, Chrome, Microsoft Office and Steam. I doubt this is a conflict with other running services.
I'm running a powerful modern system, with a Core i9-9980XE on a MSI MEG X299 Creation motherboard, 128 GB of DDR4 3800 DRAM, and a Nvidia Titan V graphics card running 4 monitors (three of them 3840x2160@30Hz and one of them 1920x1200@60Hz). So this is not from lack of hardware capacity.

I'm happy to send the error.txt and crash.dmp files if someone tells me where.
Thanks!

Dave

User avatar
ad1066
Scholar
Posts: 135
Joined: March 27th, 2012, 8:38 am
Location: Noo Yawk
Contact:

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by ad1066 » January 2nd, 2019, 9:45 am

I started getting the same thing just before the BT2 release, for me the workaround was to add "-force-glcore" to the command line options, which uses OpenGL instead of DirectX.

-- Ben
-----[Ben Morgan]-----
ad1066 AT gmail you know the rest
Ben's Wasteland Walkthrough

dkuwayam
Initiate
Posts: 2
Joined: January 1st, 2019, 2:25 am

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by dkuwayam » January 3rd, 2019, 7:15 am

Ben:
This worked perfectly. Thanks for your help!
Dave
ad1066 wrote:
January 2nd, 2019, 9:45 am
I started getting the same thing just before the BT2 release, for me the workaround was to add "-force-glcore" to the command line options, which uses OpenGL instead of DirectX.

-- Ben

Skanker
Initiate
Posts: 3
Joined: January 4th, 2019, 11:48 am

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by Skanker » January 4th, 2019, 11:53 am

Hello! I'm playing BT1 and am in Harkyn's Castle and need to run away from the third floor. However all exits seem to spit me in a loop from floor 2 to 3 over and over again, I don't remember this happening in the original :lol: consulted some maps online as well and it seems like this is a bug? I'm playing 3.05(r2664).

_noblesse_oblige_
Master
Posts: 1193
Joined: July 13th, 2015, 7:18 pm

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by _noblesse_oblige_ » January 4th, 2019, 11:26 pm

Are you talking about using the portal?
cmibl<enter>

Skanker
Initiate
Posts: 3
Joined: January 4th, 2019, 11:48 am

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by Skanker » January 5th, 2019, 3:39 am

_noblesse_oblige_ wrote:
January 4th, 2019, 11:26 pm
Are you talking about using the portal?
Portal takes me between 2F and 3F, stairs at 2F spit me out at 3F.

_noblesse_oblige_
Master
Posts: 1193
Joined: July 13th, 2015, 7:18 pm

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by _noblesse_oblige_ » January 5th, 2019, 3:29 pm

Skanker wrote:
January 5th, 2019, 3:39 am
_noblesse_oblige_ wrote:
January 4th, 2019, 11:26 pm
Are you talking about using the portal?
Portal takes me between 2F and 3F, stairs at 2F spit me out at 3F.
Portal is fine then. Sounds like the issue is the stairs, which should connect level 1 and level 2. Are you using the automap? If so, is a "stairs down" icon shown for the stairs or is a "stairs up" icon shown?
cmibl<enter>

Skanker
Initiate
Posts: 3
Joined: January 4th, 2019, 11:48 am

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by Skanker » January 6th, 2019, 2:07 am

_noblesse_oblige_ wrote:
January 5th, 2019, 3:29 pm
Skanker wrote:
January 5th, 2019, 3:39 am
_noblesse_oblige_ wrote:
January 4th, 2019, 11:26 pm
Are you talking about using the portal?
Portal takes me between 2F and 3F, stairs at 2F spit me out at 3F.
Portal is fine then. Sounds like the issue is the stairs, which should connect level 1 and level 2. Are you using the automap? If so, is a "stairs down" icon shown for the stairs or is a "stairs up" icon shown?
Hovering over the icon showed that there are stairs going up and down. Very strange stuff!

Zadkiel
Explorer
Posts: 267
Joined: November 23rd, 2015, 5:53 pm

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by Zadkiel » January 6th, 2019, 9:06 am

If stairs go in multiple directions, then answering no to the first stair prompt will then give you the second one.

_noblesse_oblige_
Master
Posts: 1193
Joined: July 13th, 2015, 7:18 pm

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by _noblesse_oblige_ » January 6th, 2019, 12:19 pm

There's only supposed to be one set of stairs at that location. And there was only one set in previous runs. Sounds like a regression in BT1.
cmibl<enter>

Zadkiel
Explorer
Posts: 267
Joined: November 23rd, 2015, 5:53 pm

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by Zadkiel » January 6th, 2019, 2:38 pm

Would be interesting to know if they are playing on the beta branch - as BT3 has stairs going in multiple directions and it may be that the code that implemented those broke some stairs in previous games.

rmichael
Initiate
Posts: 20
Joined: February 14th, 2015, 9:38 am

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by rmichael » January 7th, 2019, 2:25 pm

BT3 BETA 3.06 just came out and in the release notes the Miasmal Cur has been misnamed the Miasmal Curse.

I can't play until Linux or OSX, could someone confirm if this is a typo in release notes, or if it went into the game itself?

Aside, since I can't play myself, I'd appreciate it if anyone with time could upload a few screen recordings of the game. I'm curious to see the more of the art than is shown in the short trailer.

User avatar
Drool
Forum Moderator
Posts: 9810
Joined: March 17th, 2012, 9:58 pm
Location: Under Tenebrosia, doing shots with Sceadu.

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by Drool » January 7th, 2019, 2:29 pm

If nobody else does, I could probably whip up a little video in a few days.
Alwa nasci korliri das.

Zadkiel
Explorer
Posts: 267
Joined: November 23rd, 2015, 5:53 pm

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by Zadkiel » January 7th, 2019, 3:46 pm

Image

User avatar
Drool
Forum Moderator
Posts: 9810
Joined: March 17th, 2012, 9:58 pm
Location: Under Tenebrosia, doing shots with Sceadu.

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by Drool » January 7th, 2019, 4:12 pm

Maybe they're made of dirt? :D
Alwa nasci korliri das.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest