Discord server?

Discussion about the upcoming Wasteland 3!

Moderator: Ranger Team Alpha

lt-shepherd
Novice

Discord server?

Post by lt-shepherd » January 3rd, 2019, 1:02 pm

why doesn't inixile open up their own discord server? Because it's pretty common among game devs to have their own discord servers, to allow direct communication with their consumers.

if you guys are interested in making one, I would like to offer you a hand in making such a server as I have a lot of experience with discord servers and how to manage them (I used to own a discord server for one of the games made by hypetrain studios, and transferred the ownership to them when they requested it).

I would do it for free and as a token of my respect and appreciation for you guys over there.

lt-shepherd
Novice

Re: Discord server?

Post by lt-shepherd » January 3rd, 2019, 1:06 pm

From a buisness standpoint it would be a good idea because you won't need the forums when you can run a server for free, allowing you to directly chat with your consumers and fans.

Gillsing
Explorer

Post by Gillsing » January 3rd, 2019, 1:18 pm

As one of their consumers, I'd rather have a forum than having to go through chat logs. Direct chats seem more suitable for help desks.

lt-shepherd
Novice

Post by lt-shepherd » January 3rd, 2019, 1:27 pm

Gillsing wrote:
January 3rd, 2019, 1:18 pm
As one of their consumers, I'd rather have a forum than having to go through chat logs. Direct chats seem more suitable for help desks.
There are pluses and minuses to everything, to me personally having the option to instantly contact a Dev about a problem or something is much easier and takes less time. Besides, you can use them both, you don't need to choose one or the other. There are many ways to go about these things.

Woolfe
Supreme Jerk

Post by Woolfe » January 3rd, 2019, 9:39 pm