Page 25 of 27

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Posted: December 4th, 2018, 4:25 am
by redwinclass
BUG - Automap Glitch?

BT2 - v 2.08
In Sarandon's, teleport from N6E0 to N6E1. SCSI immediately. Go back to N6E0 to be teleported. Question mark still appears.

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Posted: December 6th, 2018, 1:14 pm
by rakenan
BUG - missing encounter

In BT2 v2.08, on the Maze of Dread, Level 3, N11 E10, web maps show an encounter with the Graphnar Weapon Master and his students. No such encounter is present in the remaster. Was this omitted on purpose, by accident, or is it just an error in the web map I saw (Bard's Tale Online map, specifically) ?

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Posted: December 6th, 2018, 8:07 pm
by jamespodesta
sorry for the lack of response. hard at work trying to get BT3/Legacy Mode in beta before christmas.

Also, its getting hard to track which bugs were fixed after the last cutoff without a lot of looking through histories.
There was some issues with the graphnar weapon master encounter but its all working in latest, so should be fixed in the next drop.

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Posted: December 22nd, 2018, 5:37 am
by KSS
- Another bug I noticed in BT2: frequently, after APAR-ing to a dungeon's exit square then exiting, the game gets stuck, leaving only the option to restore (F6 works); after doing that, APAR-ing and exiting again works.

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Posted: December 28th, 2018, 8:00 pm
by Jesse011
It's really just nitpicking as the game is so good and it's an insignificant part, but watching the dealer hit on hard 17 and as high as 20 while playing blackjack isn't right. Some casinos make a dealer hit on soft 17 (A 6) but they all stay on a hard 17 (10 7) Maybe add some other kind of reward like a weapon recharge item or up the ante to make it worth playing later on since so much work went into the card graphics already

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Posted: January 1st, 2019, 2:39 am
by dkuwayam
Hi, I just purchased BT Trilogy on Steam. It installed correctly, but I can't boot it. I get an error box stating:
"The Bard's Tale Trilogy has encountered an error and must close.
A crash report named ____ has been generated. These files can be sent to InXile Entertainment for analysis. Would you like to open this folder now?"

When I open the crash reports, it always states: "UnityPlayer.dll caused an Access Violation (0xc0000005)
in module UnityPlayer.dll at 0033:3c7684b6."

I have a super clean system, I just installed a fresh Windows 10 Pro about a week ago, I have almost no other software installed except Kaspersky Antivirus, Carbonite, Chrome, Microsoft Office and Steam. I doubt this is a conflict with other running services.
I'm running a powerful modern system, with a Core i9-9980XE on a MSI MEG X299 Creation motherboard, 128 GB of DDR4 3800 DRAM, and a Nvidia Titan V graphics card running 4 monitors (three of them 3840x2160@30Hz and one of them 1920x1200@60Hz). So this is not from lack of hardware capacity.

I'm happy to send the error.txt and crash.dmp files if someone tells me where.
Thanks!

Dave

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Posted: January 2nd, 2019, 9:45 am
by ad1066
I started getting the same thing just before the BT2 release, for me the workaround was to add "-force-glcore" to the command line options, which uses OpenGL instead of DirectX.

-- Ben

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Posted: January 3rd, 2019, 7:15 am
by dkuwayam
Ben:
This worked perfectly. Thanks for your help!
Dave
ad1066 wrote:
January 2nd, 2019, 9:45 am
I started getting the same thing just before the BT2 release, for me the workaround was to add "-force-glcore" to the command line options, which uses OpenGL instead of DirectX.

-- Ben

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Posted: January 4th, 2019, 11:53 am
by Skanker
Hello! I'm playing BT1 and am in Harkyn's Castle and need to run away from the third floor. However all exits seem to spit me in a loop from floor 2 to 3 over and over again, I don't remember this happening in the original :lol: consulted some maps online as well and it seems like this is a bug? I'm playing 3.05(r2664).

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Posted: January 4th, 2019, 11:26 pm
by _noblesse_oblige_
Are you talking about using the portal?

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Posted: January 5th, 2019, 3:39 am
by Skanker
_noblesse_oblige_ wrote:
January 4th, 2019, 11:26 pm
Are you talking about using the portal?
Portal takes me between 2F and 3F, stairs at 2F spit me out at 3F.

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Posted: January 5th, 2019, 3:29 pm
by _noblesse_oblige_
Skanker wrote:
January 5th, 2019, 3:39 am
_noblesse_oblige_ wrote:
January 4th, 2019, 11:26 pm
Are you talking about using the portal?
Portal takes me between 2F and 3F, stairs at 2F spit me out at 3F.
Portal is fine then. Sounds like the issue is the stairs, which should connect level 1 and level 2. Are you using the automap? If so, is a "stairs down" icon shown for the stairs or is a "stairs up" icon shown?

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Posted: January 6th, 2019, 2:07 am
by Skanker
_noblesse_oblige_ wrote:
January 5th, 2019, 3:29 pm
Skanker wrote:
January 5th, 2019, 3:39 am
_noblesse_oblige_ wrote:
January 4th, 2019, 11:26 pm
Are you talking about using the portal?
Portal takes me between 2F and 3F, stairs at 2F spit me out at 3F.
Portal is fine then. Sounds like the issue is the stairs, which should connect level 1 and level 2. Are you using the automap? If so, is a "stairs down" icon shown for the stairs or is a "stairs up" icon shown?
Hovering over the icon showed that there are stairs going up and down. Very strange stuff!

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Posted: January 6th, 2019, 9:06 am
by Zadkiel
If stairs go in multiple directions, then answering no to the first stair prompt will then give you the second one.

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Posted: January 6th, 2019, 12:19 pm
by _noblesse_oblige_
There's only supposed to be one set of stairs at that location. And there was only one set in previous runs. Sounds like a regression in BT1.

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Posted: January 6th, 2019, 2:38 pm
by Zadkiel
Would be interesting to know if they are playing on the beta branch - as BT3 has stairs going in multiple directions and it may be that the code that implemented those broke some stairs in previous games.

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Posted: January 7th, 2019, 2:25 pm
by rmichael
BT3 BETA 3.06 just came out and in the release notes the Miasmal Cur has been misnamed the Miasmal Curse.

I can't play until Linux or OSX, could someone confirm if this is a typo in release notes, or if it went into the game itself?

Aside, since I can't play myself, I'd appreciate it if anyone with time could upload a few screen recordings of the game. I'm curious to see the more of the art than is shown in the short trailer.

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Posted: January 7th, 2019, 2:29 pm
by Drool
If nobody else does, I could probably whip up a little video in a few days.

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Posted: January 7th, 2019, 3:46 pm
by Zadkiel
Image

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Posted: January 7th, 2019, 4:12 pm
by Drool
Maybe they're made of dirt? :D