The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

For all discussion on all the previous Bard's Tale games: the classic 1980s games (Bard's Tale, II: Destiny Knight, & III: Thief of Fate) & the humorous Bard's Tale (2004) spin off.

Moderator: Bard Hall Bouncers

Post Reply
User avatar
phimseto
Developer
Posts: 743
Joined: April 18th, 2012, 7:01 am

The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by phimseto » August 15th, 2018, 9:28 am

Hi all, here's a spot to report bugs - some of which may be just differences between versions of the games, others of which will be bugs it would be great to be aware of so we can look into. Have at it!

ybkara
Initiate
Posts: 14
Joined: August 15th, 2018, 9:57 am

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by ybkara » August 15th, 2018, 10:06 am

Magestaff doesn't regenerate spell points at the end of each round
Conjurstaff doesn't halve spell point cost

joques
Acolyte
Posts: 71
Joined: June 30th, 2016, 11:37 pm

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by joques » August 15th, 2018, 10:16 am

A bug(?): teleporters are not marked on the automap. I guess this could be a design decision? In which case fine, but in that case we need the ability to make notes in the automap to remind us where teleporters are. Kinda pointless to have such a beautiful, awesome and fully featured automap, but then still have to rely on paper maps just for the teleporters.

User avatar
thebruce
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1837
Joined: February 17th, 2015, 8:46 am
Contact:

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by thebruce » August 15th, 2018, 10:41 am

Personally, I'd still rely on the hand mapping, for other custom notes, just as you say; because who knows what else you might want to jot down.
A "true" automap would let you have full control over what's recorded and shown :) This one's much more capable, but won't catch everything. As for teleporters... hm. Strategically perhaps they're similar to marking spinners. Sometimes the challenge is in not knowing. But it's something to consider I guess
Visit BardsTaleOnline.com - your community Bard's Tale classic RPG resource!
Twitter: @BardsTaleOnline / Facebook: Bards.Tale.Online
@thebruce0

JasonJoel
Novice
Posts: 43
Joined: October 29th, 2016, 9:02 am

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by JasonJoel » August 15th, 2018, 10:47 am

As they do mark spinners on the automap... I think they should mark teleporters or provide capability for user notes. My preference would be to just show them on the map, though.

JasonJoel
Novice
Posts: 43
Joined: October 29th, 2016, 9:02 am

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by JasonJoel » August 15th, 2018, 10:49 am

ybkara wrote:
August 15th, 2018, 10:06 am
Magestaff doesn't regenerate spell points at the end of each round
Conjurstaff doesn't halve spell point cost
Ouch. I don't like those bugs....

sirocco
Initiate
Posts: 10
Joined: August 15th, 2018, 10:45 am

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by sirocco » August 15th, 2018, 10:52 am

Seems like we can equip a bow and use a (R)anged Attack in combat, but we can also just equip arrows and (U)se them as items, even without a bow in the inventory! Not sure whether this was intentional.

Without being able to change what is equipped once a combat starts, it would be nice to have a choice between ranged attacks and melee attacks (depending on what you are fighting). But it still seems like shooting arrows should require a bow!

User avatar
thebruce
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1837
Joined: February 17th, 2015, 8:46 am
Contact:

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by thebruce » August 15th, 2018, 11:00 am

Per the originals:
Arrows shouldn't be usable without a bow equipped.
Ranged attack shouldn't be possible without a Bow equipped OR any arrows in the inventory (equipped or not).
There should be no difference between Attack and Ranged attack (ie, shouldn't both be options). Technically you could Attack (melee) with the bow equipped, but it likely won't do much damage. :P That's why Arrows were to be Used (and you could carry multiple types of arrows to make that strategic selection)
That's logical to me and I grok that mechanic from the classics.
Visit BardsTaleOnline.com - your community Bard's Tale classic RPG resource!
Twitter: @BardsTaleOnline / Facebook: Bards.Tale.Online
@thebruce0

Mortuary
Initiate
Posts: 5
Joined: September 9th, 2017, 9:04 pm

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by Mortuary » August 15th, 2018, 12:08 pm

Auto pause on the game losing focus....bug or by design?

ybkara
Initiate
Posts: 14
Joined: August 15th, 2018, 9:57 am

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by ybkara » August 15th, 2018, 12:37 pm

Also equipping a dragon wand - doesn't show up as usable in combat, despite having charges.
You can try and use it outside of combat, but it just coughs up the error that it needs to be used in combat.

Dcdoc45
Novice
Posts: 32
Joined: December 23rd, 2015, 12:43 pm

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by Dcdoc45 » August 15th, 2018, 12:44 pm

No one has mentioned this and maybe its not a bug, but at night the automap overlay turns to face the direction of sight, rather than staying north up all the time. In the main map screen the dot that is the party does not have a direction indicator, just a small circle.
If this is a feature, please allow us a setting option to turn this off.

JasonJoel
Novice
Posts: 43
Joined: October 29th, 2016, 9:02 am

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by JasonJoel » August 15th, 2018, 2:29 pm

Dcdoc45 wrote:
August 15th, 2018, 12:44 pm
No one has mentioned this and maybe its not a bug, but at night the automap overlay turns to face the direction of sight, rather than staying north up all the time. In the main map screen the dot that is the party does not have a direction indicator, just a small circle.
If this is a feature, please allow us a setting option to turn this off.
That's the same behavior as in dungeons w/o a compass spell. So probably on purpose.

joekucera2002
Acolyte
Posts: 55
Joined: June 9th, 2015, 7:16 am

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by joekucera2002 » August 15th, 2018, 3:16 pm

There is no option for a rogue to identify an item in the inventory screen.

Zadkiel
Scholar
Posts: 243
Joined: November 23rd, 2015, 5:53 pm

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by Zadkiel » August 15th, 2018, 3:33 pm

Small inconsistency between mouse/keyboard in the pause menu

When the menu is opened the game 'remembers' what was last selected and considers the cursor to be on that selection but it doesn't highlight it. i.e. if you last used 'load' the game will have load selected but not highlighted. At this point pressing enter or space selects that option, using arrow keys moves the selection between menu elements which activates the highlight.

Hovering the mouse over an option highlights it, but this seems to be seperate to what it considers selected by keyboard command, and using keyboard commands uses the keyboard cursor/selected and not the mouse selection.

So, load a saved game. Then press escape to re-open the menu (load option is selected but not highlighted) then move the mouse over 'resume' which highlights that option - then press enter, the game opens the 'load' screen despite 'resume' being the one visibly highlighted at that time.

SK_1759
Acolyte
Posts: 97
Joined: September 24th, 2015, 6:10 pm

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by SK_1759 » August 15th, 2018, 3:38 pm

I noticed that to reach level 2 for the Magician and Conjurer it only required 900xp, but for everyone else it was 1000xp. And then to reach level 3 everyone needed 2000xp. Not sure why Magi/Conj would require 100xp less than the others.

joekucera2002
Acolyte
Posts: 55
Joined: June 9th, 2015, 7:16 am

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by joekucera2002 » August 15th, 2018, 3:51 pm

SK_1759 wrote:
August 15th, 2018, 3:38 pm
I noticed that to reach level 2 for the Magician and Conjurer it only required 900xp, but for everyone else it was 1000xp. And then to reach level 3 everyone needed 2000xp. Not sure why Magi/Conj would require 100xp less than the others.
In the original, it was 1800xp to reach level 2 for Conjurer/Magician - In the remastered, the experience was halved, so 1800/2 = 900xp

Zadkiel
Scholar
Posts: 243
Joined: November 23rd, 2015, 5:53 pm

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by Zadkiel » August 15th, 2018, 3:55 pm

joekucera2002 wrote:
August 15th, 2018, 3:51 pm
SK_1759 wrote:
August 15th, 2018, 3:38 pm
I noticed that to reach level 2 for the Magician and Conjurer it only required 900xp, but for everyone else it was 1000xp. And then to reach level 3 everyone needed 2000xp. Not sure why Magi/Conj would require 100xp less than the others.
In the original, it was 1800xp to reach level 2 for Conjurer/Magician - In the remastered, the experience was halved, so 1800/2 = 900xp
you misunderstood. mages are 900 for level 1 and 2000 for level 2. Warriors are 1000 for level 1 and 2000 for level 2.

It should be 900/1800 or 1000/2000, but 900/2000 is wierd.

Zadkiel
Scholar
Posts: 243
Joined: November 23rd, 2015, 5:53 pm

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by Zadkiel » August 15th, 2018, 3:56 pm

Changing the audio sliders in the settings menu but changing nothing else, the volume changes are not saved when the options window is closed.

Changing volume but also changing another setting triggers the 'save changes' prompt and the volume change is correctly saved.

SK_1759
Acolyte
Posts: 97
Joined: September 24th, 2015, 6:10 pm

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by SK_1759 » August 15th, 2018, 4:00 pm

Also I set off of poison needle trap. I lost 2 hit points from it, but didn't get poisoned. I thought in the original i poisoned you until you dispelled it or went to a temple to get healed.

MickOz
Initiate
Posts: 8
Joined: January 29th, 2016, 5:11 pm

Re: The Bard's Tale Trilogy - Bugs or Not Bugs?

Post by MickOz » August 15th, 2018, 4:02 pm

Combat round ends when mobs are dead. Queued spells do not get cast, particularly the healing spells.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests