The Bard's Tale Remastered - Beta 2.00 Released

For all discussion on all the previous Bard's Tale games: the classic 1980s games (Bard's Tale, II: Destiny Knight, & III: Thief of Fate) & the humorous Bard's Tale (2004) spin off.

Moderator: Bard Hall Bouncers

User avatar
Drool
Forum Moderator
Posts: 8751
Joined: March 17th, 2012, 9:58 pm
Location: Under Tenebrosia, doing shots with Sceadu.

Re: The Bard's Tale Remastered - Beta 2.00 Released

Post by Drool » July 27th, 2016, 9:34 pm

Started playing more in earnest. I noticed there's a save function in BT1 now, and I see the file it creates. I don't see a way to load, though. All I've been able to figure out is to delete Current.BT1.sav and rename Save1.BT1.sav to Current. Is there another way? Some hotkey I'm missing? Or is this pretty much just a way to roguelike save without backing up Current?
Alwa nasci korliri das.

I neither work, nor speak, for inXile.

Not too late; make it eight!

User avatar
sear
Developer
Posts: 2486
Joined: March 21st, 2012, 8:30 am

Re: The Bard's Tale Remastered - Beta 2.00 Released

Post by sear » July 28th, 2016, 8:02 am

Drool wrote:Started playing more in earnest. I noticed there's a save function in BT1 now, and I see the file it creates. I don't see a way to load, though. All I've been able to figure out is to delete Current.BT1.sav and rename Save1.BT1.sav to Current. Is there another way? Some hotkey I'm missing? Or is this pretty much just a way to roguelike save without backing up Current?
As far as I am aware at this time, you have to manually delete your save file if you want to start progress over. I'm not sure what Olde Skuul plans on the save management front.

Thanks for all the reports everyone. Olde Skuul are aware of this thread and your reports but I've also been filing them directly in their tracker as they roll in. Please let us know of any other issues!

User avatar
thebruce
Forum Moderator
Posts: 890
Joined: February 17th, 2015, 8:46 am
Contact:

Re: The Bard's Tale Remastered - Beta 2.00 Released

Post by thebruce » July 28th, 2016, 8:15 am

joques wrote:About your #2 there: There is a lvl 1 Magician spell that will spell out for you which tile you are on :) When you see the tell-tale flicker that means you've been teleported, cast SCSI and pinpoint your new location. No need for tedious map merging ;)
Except when it's ANMA and you can't SCSI or MACO :P
Visit BardsTaleOnline.com - your community Bard's Tale classic RPG resource!
Twitter: @BardsTaleOnline / Facebook: Bards.Tale.Online
@thebruce0

joques
Novice
Posts: 45
Joined: June 30th, 2016, 11:37 pm

Re: The Bard's Tale Remastered - Beta 2.00 Released

Post by joques » July 28th, 2016, 10:50 am

There is that :lol:

User avatar
Drool
Forum Moderator
Posts: 8751
Joined: March 17th, 2012, 9:58 pm
Location: Under Tenebrosia, doing shots with Sceadu.

Re: The Bard's Tale Remastered - Beta 2.00 Released

Post by Drool » July 28th, 2016, 12:40 pm

Oh hey, something for the gang at Old Skuul, that I don't think has been mentioned:

At least in the DOS version, when you were buying gear, items you couldn't equip had an @ symbol in front of them. Something like that in this version would be very welcome.
Alwa nasci korliri das.

I neither work, nor speak, for inXile.

Not too late; make it eight!

joques
Novice
Posts: 45
Joined: June 30th, 2016, 11:37 pm

Re: The Bard's Tale Remastered - Beta 2.00 Released

Post by joques » July 29th, 2016, 1:52 am

Not only welcome, but essential!

wefuntw
Initiate
Posts: 2
Joined: July 30th, 2016, 7:55 am

Re: The Bard's Tale Remastered - Beta 2.00 Released

Post by wefuntw » July 30th, 2016, 7:59 am

Remastered Beta 2.0 , almost everything not working correctly, bard songs, sound, monster list, party order, shop, spells.... we don't need to report any bugs, since there is plenty of them...

User avatar
Drool
Forum Moderator
Posts: 8751
Joined: March 17th, 2012, 9:58 pm
Location: Under Tenebrosia, doing shots with Sceadu.

Re: The Bard's Tale Remastered - Beta 2.00 Released

Post by Drool » July 30th, 2016, 12:07 pm

Shops work, spells work, party order works...
Alwa nasci korliri das.

I neither work, nor speak, for inXile.

Not too late; make it eight!

Tuoweit
Novice
Posts: 41
Joined: September 27th, 2014, 11:25 am

Re: The Bard's Tale Remastered - Beta 2.00 Released

Post by Tuoweit » July 30th, 2016, 6:38 pm

Drool wrote:Some hotkey I'm missing?
R brings up a "restore which game" prompt.

I don't know if it works, though, haven't tried restoring a game myself yet.

HawkSlayer
Novice
Posts: 37
Joined: October 12th, 2015, 7:05 pm

Re: The Bard's Tale Remastered - Beta 2.00 Released

Post by HawkSlayer » July 31st, 2016, 11:25 am

Tuoweit wrote:
Drool wrote:Some hotkey I'm missing?
R brings up a "restore which game" prompt.

I don't know if it works, though, haven't tried restoring a game myself yet.
How very PRO sir! Saves have been added now.
S gives a choice of 8 save games and
R allows restoration.

Seems 2.0 did add a new legit feature after all! :lol:

HawkSlayer
Novice
Posts: 37
Joined: October 12th, 2015, 7:05 pm

Re: The Bard's Tale Remastered - Beta 2.00 Released

Post by HawkSlayer » July 31st, 2016, 11:32 am

On that note. I'm certain there are macros in the game somehow. I specifically remember a vlog were the programmer was explaining how she would use them to help test fight difficulty and just hit a couple heys for AAADDDY. Hopefully that will come out in the open when Remastered is complete.

Castinar
Initiate
Posts: 2
Joined: July 26th, 2016, 3:49 am

Re: The Bard's Tale Remastered - Beta 2.00 Released

Post by Castinar » July 31st, 2016, 1:01 pm

joques wrote:About your #2 there: There is a lvl 1 Magician spell that will spell out for you which tile you are on :) When you see the tell-tale flicker that means you've been teleported, cast SCSI and pinpoint your new location. No need for tedious map merging ;)

Yeah...I remember SCSI----but in the early dungeons, I tend to hoard my spell points zealously! Much easier (back in the day).....and even more fun (in a masochistic sort of way) to manually make the maps and try to piece things together on my own. By mid-late catacombs (if I recall correctly..it's been a while!) I loosened up on my restrictions on using spell points frivolously.

Speaking of SP....wasn't there a bard song that would regenerate SP while travelling? I don't remember....but seem to recall that there might have been. I know there were a couple items that regenned spell points too --- just haven't gotten far enough along n my latest play through to find any yet (starting L2 cata's).

The Matrix Dragon
Initiate
Posts: 4
Joined: March 12th, 2013, 7:18 pm

Re: The Bard's Tale Remastered - Beta 2.00 Released

Post by The Matrix Dragon » August 1st, 2016, 12:17 am

Bard's tale 2 and 3, Rhyme of Duotime: Regenerates spell points at twice the normal speed when
played under normal conditions, and provides extra attacks during combat.

wefuntw
Initiate
Posts: 2
Joined: July 30th, 2016, 7:55 am

Re: The Bard's Tale Remastered - Beta 2.00 Released

Post by wefuntw » August 1st, 2016, 2:27 am

1.The monsters list wrong, BT1 monsters appear in BT2, BT3,
2.After New Order command, Characters duplicate, repeat this you get 6 clones of one character
3. BT3 songs missing:

Sir Robin's Tune
Safety Song
Sanctuary Score
Bringaround Ballad
Rhyme of Duotime
Watchwood Melody

4.BT2 songs missing:

The Archer's Tune
Spellsong
Sanctuary Score
Melee March
Rhyme of Duotime
Watchwood Melody

5. I am a programmer myself , if you don't have manpower to fix these issues up , I could help, pay or no pay, all fine

User avatar
Drool
Forum Moderator
Posts: 8751
Joined: March 17th, 2012, 9:58 pm
Location: Under Tenebrosia, doing shots with Sceadu.

Re: The Bard's Tale Remastered - Beta 2.00 Released

Post by Drool » August 1st, 2016, 12:33 pm

wefuntw wrote:2.After New Order command, Characters duplicate, repeat this you get 6 clones of one character
I can't say I've noticed this. I've reordered my party several times.
Alwa nasci korliri das.

I neither work, nor speak, for inXile.

Not too late; make it eight!

Greybowsky
Initiate
Posts: 3
Joined: October 7th, 2014, 7:12 am

Re: The Bard's Tale Remastered - Beta 2.00 Released

Post by Greybowsky » August 8th, 2016, 1:19 pm

i tested the remastered version (BT1) on Win10 64 Bit ... some things i noticed :

=> random encounters : i had only random encounters when entering a building (in skara brae) or inside a dungeon entering a room. sometimes (since i knew there should be a fight in a room) i needed to turn a lil bit until the combat came up. But random encounters are not existent imho. If you explored the whole dungeon you will not find any encounter until you leave it and reenter.

=> reorder works like a charm here
=> saving and restoring a game works too

=> if you encounter a larger group of mobs (20+ in at least 1 group) the fight is over after killing like 20 mobs (even if there should be 25 left). The bad thing is, that you get only the exp for the killed mobs (even if my fire horn would have killed all of em), but iirc you get the full amount of gold ??! try catacombs the skeletons, zombies etc. always 25+

edit : if you kill the mobs with little STFLor WAST, so not every mob dies, you can get the full reward out of the encounter.

=> soul sucker in catacombs hitted my lvl 9ish party for like 180ish hps each but noone died ...after several rounds i killed it and then 1 of my party members died.

=> Items like Fire Horn don´t show the charges they have in Inventory


...will update my post if i have more time ... keep up the wonderful work !

Grey
Last edited by Greybowsky on August 9th, 2016, 10:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Drool
Forum Moderator
Posts: 8751
Joined: March 17th, 2012, 9:58 pm
Location: Under Tenebrosia, doing shots with Sceadu.

Re: The Bard's Tale Remastered - Beta 2.00 Released

Post by Drool » August 8th, 2016, 1:36 pm

Greybowsky wrote:=> if you encounter a larger group of mobs (20+ in at least 1 group) the fight is over after killing like 20 mobs (even if there should be 25 left). The bad thing is, that you get only the exp for the killed mobs (even if my fire horn would have killed all of em), but iirc you get the full amount of gold ??! try catacombs the skeletons, zombies etc. always 25+
Maybe that's why the XP from the 66 skeleton fight is only about 1200. However, I've seen some weirdness with that one in other ways. Like casting DRBR, seeing a line of "killing it" and then 4 still living.

I guess the temporary fix is to just kill 'em the old fashioned way until there's 19 left and them blast 'em. Ugh, that would take awhile.
Alwa nasci korliri das.

I neither work, nor speak, for inXile.

Not too late; make it eight!

joques
Novice
Posts: 45
Joined: June 30th, 2016, 11:37 pm

Re: The Bard's Tale Remastered - Beta 2.00 Released

Post by joques » August 10th, 2016, 1:31 am

Has anybody managed to enter Skara Brae in BT3 yet? Or find a random encounter in the wilderness?

Flammon
Initiate
Posts: 5
Joined: November 20th, 2015, 6:47 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: The Bard's Tale Remastered - Beta 2.00 Released

Post by Flammon » August 12th, 2016, 5:03 pm

I would love to see the xBRZ (or similar) algorithm to scale the pixel graphics and eliminate the blurriness problem.
The xBRZ algorithm was created by Zenju in 2012, as an enhanced and optimized version of xBR. It equals the performance of HQx, and on certain architectures it even surpasses it.
Checkout the screenshots.

https://unindented.org/articles/pixel-a ... on-part-2/

ovrkll19
Initiate
Posts: 1
Joined: December 18th, 2015, 2:26 pm

Re: The Bard's Tale Remastered - Beta 2.00 Released

Post by ovrkll19 » August 26th, 2016, 2:33 pm

I get the following error when double clicking the bardstale64.exe application in Windows 7 pro 64bit:
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: bardstale64.exe
Application Version: 2.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 5770506a
Fault Module Name: wbemcomn.dll
Fault Module Version: 6.1.7601.17514
Fault Module Timestamp: 4ce7c9fa
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 0000000000014bda
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: a8fe
Additional Information 2: a8feb83f72978ae8e0ad7788a341d055
Additional Information 3: a1ba
Additional Information 4: a1baf7cd8e2aa7fafe693be973bc072d

Read our privacy statement online:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid= ... cid=0x0409

If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt
Can someone help me get the game running?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest