Batch 4 - Watchtower - WIP

The place to ask detailed technicaly questions about the crowdsourced assets experiment, and to post and discuss WIPs if you so desire.

Moderator: Ranger Team Alpha

Martisimus
Initiate

Batch 4 - Watchtower - WIP

Post by Martisimus » April 25th, 2013, 3:25 am

Hi
I though I would give this a try. I did some of my own concepts for the watchtower. I guess most people will probably stick pretty close to the original design and no need to have several same models, plus coming up with the designs is the most fun part :)

So here are some of my ideas, I won't be able to do all of them of course, I mean heck, I don't know if I manage do finish at least one, especially since the deadline is pretty short and I am quite new to low-polygon modeling (mostly used to do high-polygon like zbrush stuff etc..)

I think I will start with the bus tower, which is just different version of the original concept. I guess better to keep it simple for now. I also don't know if some of these concepts aren't too "unique"? Somebody mentioned that if the model looks to distinctive it may be difficult to reuse it, although I could do some variations of the same design.

Garbage tower, just made out of random rubbish, with some iron construction inside holding it all together but you can't see that. There is a door at the back, presumably there would be ladder inside and then small trapdoor to get you on top of the tower. I though maybe they could use some old street lights either as a random support columns for the roof or they could actually still work, like if they would have some small generator there, they could use at night.

Train tower, made out of old train with roof bended to the side, as a support for the floor of the tower.