[MOD] Free Combat Camera v1.4 (now works with DC)

For community content (fan-art, fanfic, etcetera) for Wasteland 2.

Moderator: Ranger Team Alpha

bman654
Initiate
Posts: 4
Joined: November 9th, 2015, 6:53 am

Re: [MOD] Free Combat Camera v1.4 (now works with DC)

Post by bman654 » November 11th, 2015, 6:57 am

Ahh so you did it all in IL by hand? Painful :p Still it seems like you've enough comments that I should be able to make the edits to the c# code directly.

Thanks. It will take me some time as I'll need to add an Options screen so people can toggle the mods they want...

As for zooming in closer...indeed they use a spline. I just replaced it with another one.

User avatar
Acid
Scholar
Posts: 141
Joined: June 6th, 2012, 6:39 am

Re: [MOD] Free Combat Camera v1.4 (now works with DC)

Post by Acid » November 14th, 2015, 7:40 am

Post here when you've got the patchwork mod and free camera mod working together. Want to try it out.

User avatar
ClashFan
Explorer
Posts: 327
Joined: November 24th, 2013, 3:23 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN

Re: [MOD] Free Combat Camera v1.4 (now works with DC)

Post by ClashFan » November 14th, 2015, 8:38 am

Acid, you can get them both working together, right now. I did. First install the patchwork mod, then do the FCC mod. The FCC mod will overwrite a file, but retain the camera zoom stuff. Very easy to do.

However, I have to report that I've decided to uninstall the patchwork mod. While I love the way it zooms the camera out and angles it to look ahead, I don't like the zoom in to ground level/over the shoulder. Every time I talk to a character or vendor, the camera zooms way in, often going into or blocked by terrain, etc. I've even had it go under the ground on some maps. Very immersion killing for me.

lucasd
Initiate
Posts: 6
Joined: September 27th, 2014, 4:24 am

Re: [MOD] Free Combat Camera v1.4 (now works with DC)

Post by lucasd » November 14th, 2015, 2:50 pm

Is it me or newest hotfix broke something
Run it with a lot of RAM

Ah, an interesting problem! This shouldn't take long.
Breaking into the code...
Dislocating the camera algorithm...
I need more memory. Close programs you don't use, then restart the installer.
Press any key to continue . . .

User avatar
Acid
Scholar
Posts: 141
Joined: June 6th, 2012, 6:39 am

Re: [MOD] Free Combat Camera v1.4 (now works with DC)

Post by Acid » November 14th, 2015, 10:42 pm

ClashFan wrote:
However, I have to report that I've decided to uninstall the patchwork mod. While I love the way it zooms the camera out and angles it to look ahead, I don't like the zoom in to ground level/over the shoulder. Every time I talk to a character or vendor, the camera zooms way in, often going into or blocked by terrain, etc. I've even had it go under the ground on some maps. Very immersion killing for me.
Might stick with just the free camera mod then. :)

bman654
Initiate
Posts: 4
Joined: November 9th, 2015, 6:53 am

Re: [MOD] Free Combat Camera v1.4 (now works with DC)

Post by bman654 » November 16th, 2015, 1:25 pm

I have a fix for that problem when talking to people. Just haven't had time to upload the new version.

User avatar
ClashFan
Explorer
Posts: 327
Joined: November 24th, 2013, 3:23 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN

Re: [MOD] Free Combat Camera v1.4 (now works with DC)

Post by ClashFan » November 17th, 2015, 3:37 pm

Well then, upload it already!
:-)

Staehrminator
Acolyte
Posts: 80
Joined: October 20th, 2014, 3:11 am

Re: [MOD] Free Combat Camera v1.4 (now works with DC)

Post by Staehrminator » November 18th, 2015, 5:26 am

bman654 wrote:Ahh so you did it all in IL by hand? Painful :p Still it seems like you've enough comments that I should be able to make the edits to the c# code directly.

Thanks. It will take me some time as I'll need to add an Options screen so people can toggle the mods they want...

As for zooming in closer...indeed they use a spline. I just replaced it with another one.
I used Reflector to look at the C# code, then found the corresponding IL code. I don't think Mono Cecil existed when the game came out, and I didn't think to look for it afterwards.

The only thing that annoys me is that for some stupid reason they've decided to put the code that moves the camera along with your character during combat in the InputManager class. Now let me ask you a question, does that code manage input? No. It moves the camera. So, does it belong in the InputManager class? No! But there it is, and that class is huge, and they change it in every patch (the other code entries haven't changed much since Patch 3 I believe).

Let me know if you manage to include the mod in yours, and I'll probably throw up a notice on the first post that people should download yours instead of my clunky disassembler festival.

bman654
Initiate
Posts: 4
Joined: November 9th, 2015, 6:53 am

Re: [MOD] Free Combat Camera v1.4 (now works with DC)

Post by bman654 » November 19th, 2015, 9:43 pm

Ok I just uploaded a new version which includes FCC. You are right about InputManager.Update(). That's a beast of a method.

User avatar
ClashFan
Explorer
Posts: 327
Joined: November 24th, 2013, 3:23 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN

Re: [MOD] Free Combat Camera v1.4 (now works with DC)

Post by ClashFan » November 21st, 2015, 9:58 am

The new version is great! Highly recommended to all.

Staehrminator
Acolyte
Posts: 80
Joined: October 20th, 2014, 3:11 am

Re: [MOD] Free Combat Camera v1.4 (now works with DC)

Post by Staehrminator » November 24th, 2015, 12:35 am

Fantastic, updated the first post description. Hopefully this thread can retire with dignity now.

User avatar
Acid
Scholar
Posts: 141
Joined: June 6th, 2012, 6:39 am

Re: [MOD] Free Combat Camera v1.4 (now works with DC)

Post by Acid » January 14th, 2016, 6:24 am

Camera Mod's not working because of the new update, any chance someone will update it for the latest version of wl2 dc?, otherwise back to the moving camera during combat bull crap.

Udzi
Initiate
Posts: 19
Joined: February 19th, 2013, 9:23 am

Re: [MOD] Free Combat Camera v1.4 (now works with DC)

Post by Udzi » January 14th, 2016, 6:28 am

For me FCC installer worked after update. Just need to run installer again. That patchwork from nexus does not work for me tho.

Arza
Initiate
Posts: 1
Joined: May 24th, 2017, 1:28 pm

Re: [MOD] Free Combat Camera v1.4 (now works with DC)

Post by Arza » May 24th, 2017, 1:51 pm

I installed it and nothing changed. :( Need help with this also the Patchwork mod isn't working either. Help!

User avatar
euphero
Initiate
Posts: 3
Joined: August 19th, 2012, 1:55 am

Re: [MOD] Free Combat Camera v1.4 (now works with DC)

Post by euphero » September 16th, 2017, 12:14 pm

Try this
https://mega.nz/#!GI4lyZ6R!2KrARSKmAAmU ... JMkyKiWeKo
Wasteland 2 Director's Cut\Build\WL2_Data\Managed\

Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests