On what computer did you originally play Wasteland?

For all non-gameplay/tech Wasteland 1 talk; sharing memories, discussing the setting, and general banter

Moderator: Ranger Team Alpha

Lancaster
Initiate
Posts: 2
Joined: March 23rd, 2012, 6:40 am

On what computer did you originally play Wasteland?

Post by Lancaster » March 23rd, 2012, 7:07 am

Mine was an Apple II+ with 64K of RAM - basically the oldest, least powerful computer on which you could play the game! My dad bought it at Christmas in '79, making it nearly a decade old by the time Wasteland was released in '88. It was a reliable old bastard, though, that never broke down and provided plenty of gaming through the years. Still got it in my closet: http://imgur.com/GavgD

User avatar
Sxerks
Global Moderator
Posts: 356
Joined: March 6th, 2012, 10:02 am
Contact:

Re: On what computer did you originally play Wasteland?

Post by Sxerks » March 23rd, 2012, 9:02 am

On a 8086 w 640k ram 3.5(1.44) and 5.25(702k) drives and four color CGA, around 88-89, don't have it anymore(recycled it this year actually)

Bob
Initiate
Posts: 14
Joined: March 15th, 2012, 11:18 am

Re: On what computer did you originally play Wasteland?

Post by Bob » March 23rd, 2012, 9:44 am

I also played on an apple ][+

I no longer have mine but I did keep the Wasteland manual and Wasteland Survival Guide when I was getting rid of old stuff. I might have the floppy disks too but I'd have to rummage around int he basement to know for sure.

User avatar
quigongene
Initiate
Posts: 1
Joined: March 16th, 2012, 10:37 am

Re: On what computer did you originally play Wasteland?

Post by quigongene » March 23rd, 2012, 9:36 pm

8086 with 640k of RAM and a HIGH DENSITY 5.25" floppy (1.2MB!!!) I had built it my senior year as a science fair project. It also had a 13" black and white VGA monitor (256 shades of grey...whoop)

User avatar
Drool
Forum Moderator
Posts: 8751
Joined: March 17th, 2012, 9:58 pm
Location: Under Tenebrosia, doing shots with Sceadu.

Re: On what computer did you originally play Wasteland?

Post by Drool » March 23rd, 2012, 10:34 pm

Commodore64. Still remember taking a hole puncher to my blank floppies to double-side them because I had to copy all four discs before I could even play the game.
Alwa nasci korliri das.

I neither work, nor speak, for inXile.

Not too late; make it eight!

User avatar
MightyHedgehog
Initiate
Posts: 21
Joined: March 16th, 2012, 4:28 am

Re: On what computer did you originally play Wasteland?

Post by MightyHedgehog » March 24th, 2012, 6:36 am

Apple //c

That thing got so played for so long that the case on that machine started to warp and sink in on itself near the powersupply from the heat of summer and uninterrupted play sessions. Went out of my way to play through the C64 and DOS versions in the early 90s, too.

Celtic927
Explorer
Posts: 302
Joined: March 15th, 2012, 11:40 am

Re: On what computer did you originally play Wasteland?

Post by Celtic927 » March 24th, 2012, 12:11 pm

Commodore 64 of course, I remember me and my brother taking like an hour to PREP all those 5/1/4 floppies ha ha ha
Crazy by today's standrads
-CHris
Cooking up Blood Sausage since 1988.

User avatar
ADuck
Initiate
Posts: 8
Joined: March 15th, 2012, 11:15 am

Re: On what computer did you originally play Wasteland?

Post by ADuck » March 26th, 2012, 4:51 am

As my avatar pic depicts. :mrgreen:

User avatar
Hexborg
Initiate
Posts: 7
Joined: March 13th, 2012, 3:03 pm

Re: On what computer did you originally play Wasteland?

Post by Hexborg » March 26th, 2012, 2:45 pm

I played on a Tandy 1000 EX on 5.25" floppies. Later, I upgraded to one 3.5" disk.

Lanatir
Scholar
Posts: 129
Joined: March 22nd, 2012, 7:43 am

Re: On what computer did you originally play Wasteland?

Post by Lanatir » March 29th, 2012, 10:54 am

C64. I also remember the process of preparing the actual play disks. That was .... weird.

User avatar
uncledrax
Initiate
Posts: 10
Joined: March 29th, 2012, 8:42 am

Re: On what computer did you originally play Wasteland?

Post by uncledrax » March 29th, 2012, 12:05 pm

C=64 as well here.. long live the 1541 drive..

I'll fess up to playing it again in an emu for the IBM version... didn't feel the same to me.
Disclaimer: I'm old and cranky and played the original Wasteland on a C=64.

User avatar
Drool
Forum Moderator
Posts: 8751
Joined: March 17th, 2012, 9:58 pm
Location: Under Tenebrosia, doing shots with Sceadu.

Re: On what computer did you originally play Wasteland?

Post by Drool » March 29th, 2012, 9:27 pm

Yeah, some of the C64 images (like Charmaine there) were better. I like the PC's blood priest, though.
Alwa nasci korliri das.

I neither work, nor speak, for inXile.

Not too late; make it eight!

BJAltman
Initiate
Posts: 22
Joined: March 30th, 2012, 12:05 pm

Re: On what computer did you originally play Wasteland?

Post by BJAltman » March 30th, 2012, 12:10 pm

Apple IIe, which I still have with the original disks and a paragraph book that's showing a bit of wear.

User avatar
MDF_MadDogFargo
Explorer
Posts: 360
Joined: March 15th, 2012, 7:21 am

Re: On what computer did you originally play Wasteland?

Post by MDF_MadDogFargo » March 30th, 2012, 12:38 pm

I played it on an Apple ][gs at a friend's house, and later, on an Apple ][e at the local library. Same disks, but the game was in color on the ][gs and in monochrome on the ][e.

User avatar
paultakeda
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2688
Joined: March 14th, 2012, 2:47 pm
Location: AAAAAARGH!

Re: On what computer did you originally play Wasteland?

Post by paultakeda » March 30th, 2012, 6:05 pm

Beltron 8086 IBM-PC XT Clone 4.77/8MHz turbo. 640KB RAM, 20MB MFM HDD, 360K 5.25" FDD, 4-color CGA video card. No mouse.

In grad school I purchased the Interplay 10 Year Anthology CD-ROM and relived WL on an i486DX and was amazed at the 16-color EGA graphics and the red mouse hand in the game.
Last edited by paultakeda on March 30th, 2012, 11:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Jani
Initiate
Posts: 3
Joined: March 30th, 2012, 6:28 pm

Re: On what computer did you originally play Wasteland?

Post by Jani » March 30th, 2012, 6:33 pm

Commodore 64 and it was truly EPIC!

User avatar
CHAR-BROIL
Initiate
Posts: 15
Joined: March 17th, 2012, 5:57 pm

Re: On what computer did you originally play Wasteland?

Post by CHAR-BROIL » March 30th, 2012, 8:53 pm

C=64

User avatar
CaptainPatch
Grandmaster
Posts: 2723
Joined: March 31st, 2012, 12:38 am
Location: San Rafael, CA
Contact:

Re: On what computer did you originally play Wasteland?

Post by CaptainPatch » March 31st, 2012, 4:31 pm

It was either an IBM 386 or 486. I still have (and always kept) my IBM PC version of WL close to hand, just for nostalgia's sake. Haven't been able to play it since the 5-1/4" floppy drive shuffled off to the Twilight Zone. Really wish _somebody_ would release a new edition playable on a Win XP/Vista/7 (32-bit or 64-bit) OS. Tried using DOSbox, but that never seemed to work for me, even though there are a bunch of other DOS I'd also like to see updated as well. (Darklands, Sea Rogue, just to name a couple.)
"If you don't know what is worth dying for, Life isn't worth living."

"Choose wisely."

Son of Max
Adventurer
Posts: 510
Joined: April 1st, 2012, 3:03 am

Re: On what computer did you originally play Wasteland?

Post by Son of Max » April 1st, 2012, 4:37 pm

Laser 128 (Apple IIe clone).
25 years and it's finally here...

Seytan
Novice
Posts: 30
Joined: April 1st, 2012, 11:24 pm

Re: On what computer did you originally play Wasteland?

Post by Seytan » April 2nd, 2012, 12:06 am

Sxerks wrote:On a 8086 w 640k ram 3.5(1.44) and 5.25(702k) drives and four color CGA, around 88-89, don't have it anymore(recycled it this year actually)
This.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest